top of page

Feels Like Home

Music has always been very important to me. There is home video of me at age three arguing lyrics of Jacob's Ladder by Huey Lewis & the News. And more hours of me singing and dancing to the best music 1987 had to offer.

And for as long as I can remember, I have never had the right words to say in any given moment. But there has always been a song line or melody that has perfectly represented how I feel and what I want to say. You can ask my high school friends and ex boyfriends that my favorite activity was making artistic drawings of song lines and movie quotes to give to them. I know most of them never saw the light of day again, but they were the way that I knew how to say what I felt. Using another's words.

A friend and were talking about love and relationships and how just because one relationship feels different from the other, that doesn't mean one is greater than or less the previous relationship. I explained that an ex and I had a relationship much like a Celine Dion song. Very passionate with very intense ups and downs. And as much fun as it was, the appeal of living that fizzled out. Quickly. Much like the shelf life of those songs. But with Hubby, he's the line "I hear you call my name and it feels like Home" I know that most of you know that line from a Madonna song, but I much prefer the Straight No Chaser version. And if you don't know them, get to know them, for they are every kind of awesome.

We actually used another SNC song as our first dance at our wedding. Its called Everyday and the reason why we (mostly I) chose that song is the main line I love you everyday . Which I think is very important. There are days when I may be mad or frustrated, days that we're fighting or not speaking, but I will still love you everyday.

And isn't that what it's all about?

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page