top of page

I'm Not There Yet. And Don't Want to Be.


I have had this song on repeat for the past two days and couldn't really figure out why. It's cute and catchy and what have you, but I think I have finally figured out why.

I am NOT there yet.

But more importantly I don't think I want to be.

I don't want to lose the drive. Or to really beat the metaphor into the ground- I don't want to give up the journey. I am 30 something and in most senses of the word, I am all grown up. I have a mortgage and job and responsibilities. I cooked my own Christmas dinner last year for the very first time. Which was equal parts scary and exciting.

Everyone keeps saying I'm all grown up....

But I choose not to be. I don't want to be all grown up. I want to go to Disney World and ride Splash Mountain and eat Mickey shaped things. I want to watch Shrek and The Little Mermaid. I like to play on swings and go down slides. I don't want to lose my 'child like sense of wonder' or curiosity. I don't want to stop learning or growing or changing or doing. Which reminds me, that I need to book the glass blowing class I bought on Groupon.

I don't want to get to my destination and stay there for the rest of my life. I want to keep moving. Keep shaking things up. Keep going.

And going and going and going.

P.S. I really like the story about how the song was made . A lesson about how getting really drunk is helpful. And about how things don't always go your way.

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page